Nursing Assisting Class

I have been working on my CNA class for approximately four months now. It has been a fun and amazing experience for me. I really love that one of my best friends is doing this class with me and she is helping me so much.

I can’t wait to see where each of our futures go after we get our licenses and get a job as CNA’s. I feel like I will do really well at what I have been practicing to do these last few months, and I’m not sure weather I want to go to college after I graduate or not.

In a way I would like to go to further my career, and show to my dad that I can be successful. I really wanted to take this class not only to prove to my dad I will become what I say I want to, but also to follow in the footsteps of my family.

By taking Nursing Assisting it has shown me a lot of skills that I am actually confident in doing. It has also taught me a lot of things that I didn’t know about taking care of people, like yeah that’s the whole point of the class of I just found it interesting what I have learned so far.

Some of the skills that I have learned from Nursing Assisting would be how to properly chart information, using correct body mechanics so you won’t pull something such as a muscle, properly washing hands, taking blood pressure, many different positions (supine, prone, side lying/ semi-side lying, fowler’s {low, semi,and high}, sim’s, and lithotomy in bed).

I will go through each of the positions:

Supine- supine is known as laying on your back

772_sites_supine

Prone- prone is known as laying on your stomach

Beautiful young female exercising on a blue matt

Side lying/ Semi-side lying- side lying is kind of obvious, you are laying on your side

sidelaying

Fowler’s- fowler’s has three different parts to it. High, low, and semi

standard-position.jpg  Fowler’s High position

low-position  Fowler’s Low position

semi-fowler-position  Semi-Fowler’s position

Sim’s- sim’s position I don’t really know how to explain

download

Lithotomy- the lithotomy position is the position you get put in when you are going to have a baby

lithotomy.jpg

There a few more positions that are there but, I haven’t learned about the others yet. I’m sure that I will eventually but just haven’t yet.

Here is a picture of all of the positions and some of them you will recognize from the pictures above but others you  may not if you don’t know much about positions.

X2604-P-36.png

If you have anything in particular you would like me to blog about next please comment to tell me. It took a lot of hard thinking and going through papers to figure out what I was going to blog about so suggestions are much appreciated 🙂

2 thoughts on “Nursing Assisting Class”

  1. You may not ever need to know these positions but your future is different than mine, you may or may not go into the medical field, but I know for sure that I am. If the topic involves anything to do with medicine or health, then I am super interested. I am one of those people who doesn’t get grossed out by many smells or sights, and I have always been good at health classes and most always been good at math.

    Like

Leave a comment